Bar Ends Cable routing

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
kawa9999
Posts: 44
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 7:51am
Contact:

Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby kawa9999 » 3 Mar 2014, 3:51pm

Hi,
anyone using bar ends shifters with cables completely wrapped under the bar tape?
Any issue with shifting?
I have currently Shimano 9 speed bar end shifter with cables routed the old way on my drop bars (just a few centimeters under the bar tape, but plan to mount a front rack, and would like to have the cables all under the tape, unless I do get troubles with shifting.
Thanks!

bumper
Posts: 41
Joined: 9 Feb 2009, 8:18pm

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby bumper » 3 Mar 2014, 4:14pm

I had mine under about 4 wraps of the tape. I then changed to completely under and out with the brake outers, approx. 3 inches from the stem centre. They shift perfectly and are indexed 10 speed on pretty tight midge bar bends.

User avatar
Si
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: 5 Jan 2007, 7:37pm

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby Si » 3 Mar 2014, 4:47pm

Mine were under two layers of tape for about 4 inches. Worked fine for me.

alpgirl
Posts: 164
Joined: 30 May 2012, 10:22pm

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby alpgirl » 3 Mar 2014, 9:39pm

My galaxy came with cable under the tape. No problems at all.

User avatar
robgul
Posts: 2884
Joined: 8 Jan 2007, 8:40pm
Contact:

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby robgul » 4 Mar 2014, 6:34am

Assuming you mean the cable outers under the tape and emerging about 10 or 15cm from the stem - then Yes - works fine for me on 3 different machines with bar-end changers (running 8 x 3 speed)

Rob

User avatar
NATURAL ANKLING
Posts: 10479
Joined: 24 Oct 2012, 10:43pm
Location: English Riviera

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby NATURAL ANKLING » 4 Mar 2014, 10:10am

Hi,
I think the OP is saying that with a front rack the convential cable lay will clash with rack :?:
They are asking if the cables are wrapped as with the brakes, all around the bars will this work ok :?:
If You Don't Try You Don't Do.....Don't Do You Don't Get...I'm Still Trying....Well Very..
You'll Find Me At The Top Of A Hill...............Somewhere...After Dark..

kawa9999
Posts: 44
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 7:51am
Contact:

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby kawa9999 » 4 Mar 2014, 10:34am

Hi,
yes that is what I meant.

I have currently more or less like this:
http://home.comcast.net/~dont_think/pics/IMG_0442.jpg
I want it like this:
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_7ZVM09nSdLg/S-7qXSQbGzI/AAAAAAAABPM/cGWHcV2638I/s1600/SANY0146.JPG

But I fear heving issues with shifting because of cable routing.

notlobgp14
Posts: 127
Joined: 25 Jun 2009, 9:33am
Location: Leyland Lancashire

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby notlobgp14 » 4 Mar 2014, 10:41am

I think reply 1 is saying it works OK with the cable exit about 3" from the stem. :)

bumper
Posts: 41
Joined: 9 Feb 2009, 8:18pm

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby bumper » 4 Mar 2014, 2:40pm

notlobgp14 wrote:I think reply 1 is saying it works OK with the cable exit about 3" from the stem. :)


Correct :)


keithg
Posts: 116
Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 5:07pm

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby keithg » 4 Mar 2014, 5:00pm

Its a lot easier if you have a small size frame and bars, it gives you a lot more cable (they come in standard lengths and aren't designed for the extra reach of bar end shifters) to play around with.
If you are pretty big, use large bars or a high set stem then it may be impossible, good luck!

User avatar
robgul
Posts: 2884
Joined: 8 Jan 2007, 8:40pm
Contact:

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby robgul » 4 Mar 2014, 5:29pm

keithg wrote:Its a lot easier if you have a small size frame and bars, it gives you a lot more cable (they come in standard lengths and aren't designed for the extra reach of bar end shifters) to play around with.
If you are pretty big, use large bars or a high set stem then it may be impossible, good luck!


.... buy the cable outer by the metre (Chain Reaction) ... and if the cable length is an issue, buy tandem cables. [I always cut my own outers, brake and gear, off the roll, but have never had a problem with inner cable length (and my frames are BIG .. 25" in old money)]

Rob

User avatar
andrew_s
Posts: 4855
Joined: 7 Jan 2007, 9:29pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby andrew_s » 4 Mar 2014, 7:04pm

I run my cables under the bar tape right up to the stem (more or less).
Shifting works fine, but one thing I've found, having a fairly large frame and wide bars (On-one midge), is that a standard gear inner is too short. I ended up having to get a tandem inner

User avatar
Godlykepower
Posts: 353
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 10:32pm
Location: Royston, Hertfordshire

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby Godlykepower » 4 Mar 2014, 8:00pm

I have a newly built Surly LHT 56cm with 46cm Salsa Cowbell bars. My bar end shifters are routed right around the bars and exit a couple of inches from the stem. Looks neat and tidy and works perfectly.
I don't have a gambling problem. I'm winning, and winning is not a problem for me. That's like saying AC/DC have an awesomeness problem.

tim_f
Posts: 243
Joined: 12 Oct 2009, 10:37pm

Re: Bar Ends Cable routing

Postby tim_f » 4 Mar 2014, 11:07pm

I have 3 bikes with bar ends and 2 of them I have the cables wrapped past the brakes and exiting near the stem.

On my touring bike which has under bb routing I needed to use a tandem gear cable for the rear mech on another bike wit top tube routing I did not. To minimise friction one needs to make the curves as wide as possible. Routing the cable up to top of bars works best on handlebars with wider radius curves. Need to use outers which minimise friction.

if have too much friction will stop gears working smoothly. Probably need to replace outers more often then when traditional method used.

Jagwire sell a cable set now with extra long cables and outers.

Tim