Cycle trip south Devon

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
alan dun

Cycle trip south Devon

Post by alan dun »

Just thought I'd pick the collective brain..

I'm planning a 3-4 day cycle trip in south Devon in August - and had originally thought about the Devon coast to coast - but the distance from Minehead to the nearest station has put me off, so am thinking about taking the train to Exeter and sticking to South Devon/Dartmoor instead.

Does anyone have any good tips/routes?

I'm a veteran in my 70's so looking to do no more than 35-40 miles a day.
horizon

Re: Cycle trip south Devon

Post by horizon »

Just a quick reply to say that you would be looking at Ilfracombe not Minehead so that should be easier. Lots of flat going as well:

https://www.sustrans.org.uk/find-a-rout ... -to-coast/
When the pestilence strikes from the East, go far and breathe the cold air deeply. Ignore the sage, stay not indoors. Ho Ri Zon 12th Century Chinese philosopher
NATURAL ANKLING

Post by NATURAL ANKLING »

Hi,
Devon in general is very hilly.
DARTMOOR and the north and south coast more so.
But that's where the scenery is.
In actual fact Minehead (which I stupidly thought was in Devon ha ha) to Torquay it's probably one of the easiest rides, 75 miles I've done it in about 4 1/4 hours in the past.
But there's not a lot to see on the route.

Off the top of my head from Exeter I would either go up to Okehampton then pick up the cycle route all the way down to Plymouth, then along the coast Back towards Torquay, from then east is one of the most scenic routes along the whole of the Cornwall and Devon coast.
In actual fact from Plymouth all the way to Seaton Is the best.

Other than that you could go from Exeter straight down the cycle path to hit the South Devon coast and go either way east or west.

North Devon coast is very hilly and of course it is quieter than the South Devon coast.
South Devon still has its hills.