Tyre pressures

Trips, adventures, bikes, equipment, etc.
tbuckland4

Tyre pressures

Post by tbuckland4 »

Hi everyone

This question has probably been asked 100 times, but what pressures do people run on their MTB tyres?

I came back to cycling after a long break just a couple of years ago and have only been riding off road since February so I’m still learning.

I’m riding a Cannondale Trail 4 hard tail with 29” WTB tyres with tubes. The tyres recommend between 35 and 65 psi. I initially opted for around 45-50 psi on each which was a pretty firm ride.

I’ve read of people running fairly low pressures in their tyres - below 20 psi - although they may be using tubeless tyres.

I imagine it would be more comfortable to reduce the pressures but I obviously don’t want the wheels to bottom out if I hit something. I’m mostly riding gravel trails and some forest paths.
squeaker

Re: Tyre pressures

Post by squeaker »

WTB NineLine tyres come in 2" and 2.25" widths - I'd run 40-45psi on the rear, 35-40psi front with the 2" tyre. (Yes, tubeless can be run softer as no pinch punctures ;) ) Usual advice seems to be reduce pressure until you start getting pinch punctures, then go up a bit 'till they stop occurring...
"42"
DevonDamo

Post by DevonDamo »

tbuckland4 wrote: 28 Aug 2021, 8:37amThis question has probably been asked 100 times, but what pressures do people run on their MTB tyres?
The answer to that question entirely depends on what you intend to do with the bike. For riding very fast on difficult terrain - especially fast, loose, flat turns - the received wisdom is to use the very low pressures you mention. People often go tubeless and/or install those foam inserts to allow them to run their pressures as low as possible without pinch-puncturing their tubes or damaging their rims.