Looking for a challenging route

Specific board for this popular undertaking.
schneewehe

Looking for a challenging route

Post by schneewehe »

As this is my first time riding in the UK m looking for a route which passes as much cycing highlights as possible. I'm usually riding the Alps so I'd love to climb scenic passes. But of course I don't want to ride on highways or roads which much traffic.

So during my research I find this routes:
https://www.rideacrossbritain.com/route/ --> That seems really challenging, but I'm afraid if there are a lot of main roads included.

Another option would be the B&B Route, but I'm not sure if it's suiable for road bikes:
https://www.cyclinguk.org/article/cycli ... hn-ogroats

And a third possibility could be this one, which tries to avoid any traffic roads. But as I love mountains I'd like to prever a route through the scottisch hills.
https://ridewithgps.com/routes/17087989

But maybe someone has done the ride with as much mountains as possible and would like to share his data and experiences?

Kind regards Andrea
rotavator

Re: Looking for a challenging route

Post by rotavator »

There are some big hills in mid Wales that would give you a challenge although the views are not as awe inspiring as those in the Alps. I would suggest Lon Las Cymru for starters, may be starting in Chepstow and going over the Gospel Pass. If you manage to cycle up the hill N of Aberllefenni with a touring load and without electric assistance you will have my respect! There are other monster hills like Bwlch y Groes from Dinas Mawddwy and the Devil's Staircase if you prefer to devise your own route. Accomodation and food are relatively easy to find.