Sturmey Archer AW Riding Techniques

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
Carlton green

Sturmey Archer AW Riding Techniques

Post by Carlton green »

I guess that I’ve been using my SA AW for around two years now and I continue to be impressed by the utility of these hubs. If you set them up right and look after the mechanics then they can get you about very nicely. However, with all tools, technique makes all the difference and I’m finding this to be the case with the SA. It wouldn’t be too unfair to say that a decent derailleur set-up will get you to your destination both more quickly and with less effort than an SA AW but, of course, the SA AW has counterbalancing merits - I’ve just built up a spare SA AW wheel so I must like them.

Looking at ease of cycling and efficient riding technique with the SA AW I’m wondering how long term users of it have modified their riding to suit?

My bike is set up with a top gear of just 63” and that allows me to both make good progress and usually hold the top gear along the undulating ‘c’ class rides that I use the bike on, middle gear (direct drive) is good for climbing noticeable inclines - and mechanically efficient - and the bottom gear (about 35”) will winch me up most things - I’m also happy to walk up hills too. Gearing is pragmatic compromise.