Carrera Furnace I - 1x11 conversion

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Zielonyman

Carrera Furnace I - 1x11 conversion

Post by Zielonyman »

Hello All,

Last year I've got myself Carrera Furnace I with 2x8 groupset (Shimano CS-Hg200 mounted on 10x135mm qr rear hub).
Seemed like a decent spec for the money.
I really like this bike and would like to covert it to 1x11 but I don't know if its possible with my current wheels/hub.
I'm a complete novice and could do with some advice.
I know I should be able to swap my 8 speed cassette to a 9 speed cassette with ease as it is available on Furnace II which was unavailable at the time when I purchased it, but dont think it is worth the hassle and not sure if 1x9 would be sufficient.
I was wondering if anyone else has this bike and if you would be able to recommend anything.
I know it would probably be cheaper to sell it and get something more expensive, but I would like to learn something new by gradually upgrading this bike.

Here's full specification:

Tyres
DELI SA-281 All terrain tyres
Forks
Suntour XCM, 120mm
Bottom Bracket
Sealed, 68x122.5mm
Cassette/Freewheel
Shimano CS-HG200 8-speed, 12-32T
Chain
KMC 8-speed
Chainset
Prowheel TM-CY10, 36/22T, 170mm
Front Hub
Black, alloy, Quick release 9x100mm
Front Brake
Tektro HD-M275 Hydraulic Disc Brake, 160mm
Front Derailleur
Shimano FD-M315-TS, 31.8mm clamp
Handlebars
Riser bar, 20mm rise, 31.8mm clamp, 740mm
Headset
Semi-integrated, 1 1/8"
Pedals
Mountain bike pedal, 9/16"
Quick Release Front Wheel
Yes
Rear Hub
Black, alloy, Quick release 10x135mm
Rear Derailleur
Shimano RD-M315 Altus 8-speed
Rims
Alloy double wall
Tyre Size
Front Tyre: 27.5 x 2.25" Rear Tyre: 27.5 x 2.1"
Suspension
Front Suspension
Seatpost
Alloy, 27.2x350mm, 31.8mm clamp
Fork travel
120mm
Frame Material
Alloy

Cheers for any suggestions
Jamesh

Re: Carrera Furnace I - 1x11 conversion

Post by Jamesh »

Picking up a groupset like this is probably your best bet either new or s/h