Foot on pedal pointing out

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
digitalgerry

Foot on pedal pointing out

Post by digitalgerry »

Hi all
First post and newbie

I’m new to cycling and preparing for a London to Paris cycle ride in Sept. I’ve just bought a Cannondale 105 and it’s a dream. I’m not using anything but the pedals as is and trainers.

I’m finding my right foot is pointing out more off the pedal and the heel catching the pedal arm. Why would that be and what could I do to resolve it.
Many thanks
Jdsk

Re: Foot on pedal pointing out

Post by Jdsk »

Welcome.

Is that with toe clips or similar or just the trainers on top of the pedal surface?

How straight is your leg when your foot is at the bottom of the stroke? Is there still lots of of bend in your knee?

Thanks

Jonathan
axel_knutt

Post by axel_knutt »

Sometimes it can just be a bad habit, in which case the glib answer is to point your foot straight, but if that's the position in which your leg's comfortable you might find attempting to straighten it causes knee problems. If that's the case, a pedal extender to shift the pedal further from the crank might be of help, but a disadvantage of pedal extenders is that they reduce your ground clearance on corners. Some trainers are quite wide at the heel, which won't help, in which case different footwear is an option.
“I'm not upset that you lied to me, I'm upset that from now on I can't believe you.”
― Friedrich Nietzsche
Paulatic

Post by Paulatic »

Are you catching the crank arm by much? If it’s only slight then a pedal washer, to move the pedal out, might be all you need.
Whatever I am, wherever I am, this is me. This is my life

https://stcleve.wordpress.com/category/lejog/
E2E info
rjb

Post by rjb »