GPS device for real time navigation

Trips, adventures, bikes, equipment, etc.
billyonabike

GPS device for real time navigation

Post by billyonabike »

Hi all,
I'm new to mountain biking and looking to start going onto more off road trails and improve fitness.
I'd like to buy a GPS to do real time navigation so I could follow a route and not get lost.
Ideally a unit where I could download a trail and then follow it, give me alerts if I take the wrong turn etc.
What would you recommend? Garmin 530, Wahoo Roam, or is the Hammerhead worth the extra money?

I'm in the UK if that makes any difference re quality of mapping.

Thanks for any advice :)
Benz3ne

Re: GPS device for real time navigation

Post by Benz3ne »

Afraid I have no input, but I'm following this with interest. :)
Psamathe

Post by Psamathe »

Personally I'd never get anything Wahoo again after my experience using one of their GPS navigators on tour (my review https://psamathe.net/wahoo-elemnt-navigation-review/). Others like them but when it lets you down badly you avoid (and it was multiple failures, both the device and separately their infrastructure).

Ian
deeferdonk

Post by deeferdonk »

I have a first generation Hammerhead and that has a nice big screen and good clear mapping. I believe the current 2nd generation is similar but slightly smaller. It is the best i have seen for displaying map/routes on a cycling specific device. And it often recieves updates with improved features as they are developed. However the battery life isn't brilliant. It suits me for rides of no more than a few hours but if i was doing longer days in the saddle, for peace of mind, I might be better off with the equivalent Garmin which i understand is a lot better for battery life. It will run with a battery pack attached though - which i may do as the battery life gets worse over the coming years unless tempted by a good offer on some new tech.