Cycling benchmark?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
camperman83

Cycling benchmark?

Post by camperman83 »

Im quite new to cycling as a hobby, obviously i can cycle and had to before because i lost my driving licence. Im looking at starting this as a hobby and wondered what is the benchmark for cycling? Do people also look at 5km or is it like 10km, or smaller for beginners?
Jdsk

Re: Cycling benchmark?

Post by Jdsk »

There's a very large number of ways of enjoying and getting the benefits of riding human-powered vehicles. A quick browse of this forum will show that. : - )

I can only suggest trying as many as possible and seeing what works for you.

Do you have any regular journeys on which you could switch to cycling?

Would you enjoy riding with others?

A merry heart goes all the day, Your sad, tires in a mile-a

Jonathan
Paulatic

Post by Paulatic »

IME people who say they don’t cycle much are capable of 10 miles before they know it. Cycle slowly at the speed of chat, a couple of stops at POI, and hey presto they can’t believe they’ve done it. Then there’s no stopping them :D
Whatever I am, wherever I am, this is me. This is my life

https://stcleve.wordpress.com/category/lejog/
E2E info
jois

Post by jois »

camperman83 wrote: 24 Sep 2022, 4:17pm Im quite new to cycling as a hobby, obviously i can cycle and had to before because i lost my driving licence. Im looking at starting this as a hobby and wondered what is the benchmark for cycling? Do people also look at 5km or is it like 10km, or smaller for beginners?
It depends what your trying to achieve really. The first bench mark I'd choose would be an ability to get somewhere you want to go. Then the ability do do so in a timely manner.

It doesn't really matter how far away that is
drossall

Post by drossall »