Bandsaw Question

Use this board for general non-cycling-related chat, or to introduce yourself to the forum.
Psamathe

Bandsaw Question

Post by Psamathe »

Following a moderately recent thread where some posted amazing carpentry works they'd done, I wondered if anybody could help me with a bandsaw issue.

I have no experience of bandsaws (never really used them before) but now have acquired what I believe is a moderately good quality one. I didn't really want it but it seems not easy to sell or worth much so I kept it (as only family member with adequate workshop space).

Problem: when I try and cut anything using the straight guide feed the blade almost immediately skews off and cuts an an angle and I have to stop as the blade is getting badly deflected off it's vertical path. It's got a blade maybe ½" front to back that feels pretty sharp. Only tried with hardwood (oak and iroko) over 1" thick.

I appreciate a bandsaw is not designed for cutting straight lined but this is maybe going off 15° (guess).

I've not played around with any settings as I don't know anything about bandsaws e.g. blade seems moderately tight but not tightened or slackened. Blade seems moderately sharp (to touch as well as compared to the couple of spare bldes - which are narrower). Is this a recognised problem with a straightforward solution or what should I start changing?

Many thanks
Jdsk

Re: Bandsaw Question

Post by Jdsk »

While we're waiting for the experts...

How hard are you pushing?

Check the band guides.

Please can you add a photo to show the type, and can you find a make and model number?

Jonathan
Psamathe

Post by Psamathe »

Jdsk wrote: 6 Dec 2022, 11:36am While we're waiting for the experts...

How hard are you pushing?

Check the band guides.

Please can you add a photo to show the type, and can you find a make and model number?

Jonathan