Rohloff gear changers

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
KM2

Rohloff gear changers

Post by KM2 »

I’ve just watched a YouTube video on a rohloff build using Campag Chorus drop bar shifters for gear changing. One side up, the other down. I didn’t know this was possible.
KM2

Re: Rohloff gear changers

Post by KM2 »

PH

Post by PH »

Sounds like the Gebla Robox, I have no experience, but the reports are they need far more maintaining than the twist shifter, which goes some way to negate the advantage of a Rohloff in the first place
https://www.sjscycles.co.uk/hub-spares/ ... lack44988/
KM2

Post by KM2 »

Madness at £150
PT1029

Post by PT1029 »

It is the first time I have seen the installation of hidden through the stem and head tube cables.
Confirms my opinion that such cable routing is the devil's work. I'd say approx halve the video was allocated to threading the cables....... Very tidy to look at on a bike, but torturous bends to get into the stem.
A cycle mechanic's nightmare. Does anyone know what a cycle shop would charge to install/replace such cable(s)?
KM2

Post by KM2 »

At least £30 ph.
PT1029

Post by PT1029 »

Yes, but how many hours?!

If you need to replace a cable later, it is remove handle bars and stem plus dismantle headset before you even think about a cable.
And with that, if it is 1 cable, you might as well do all 4 cables to get your handle bars/stem/headset money's worth.

On the plus side, you don't have to undo the bar tape (possibly.....)
Tiberius

Post by Tiberius »

I wouldn't do it myself (I went with the Co-Motion shifter on my own drop bar/Rohloff) but that is one wonderful bike in the video. The more that I look at it, that ticks just about every box for me.

Edit - A brief look on-line suggests a price of roughly €7,600 (£6,660 ish) depending on spec'

I will do my best not to look at it again.
Last edited by Tiberius on 21 Jan 2023, 10:02am, edited 2 times in total.
PH

Post by PH »