New cassette and chain

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Devz

New cassette and chain

Post by Devz »

Hi everyone

So I got my bike fixed the other day and although fixed the tech did mention my cassette and chain are worn and new ones should be considered.

I have an 8 speed cassette and he mentioned that if I get a 34 chain, it would make cycling up hills easier and general cycling easier..

I’m still learning but is this true and are there any disadvantage to getting this larger chain on my 8 speed?

Thanks guys
Jdsk

Re: New cassette and chain

Post by Jdsk »

How many chainwheels at the front, and how many teeth on each?

How many teeth on the sprockets at the rear?

Thanks

Jonathan
Jdsk

Post by Jdsk »

When you're cycling uphill would you like to have a lower gear?

Jonathan
richardfm

Post by richardfm »

He may have meant an 8 speed cassette with 34 teeth on the largest sprocket, which presumably is more than the current cassette.
It would make cycling up hill easier. Only an advantage if you find it hard cycling up hill now with the chain on the largest sprocket and the smallest chain ring
Richard M
Cardiff
Devz

Post by Devz »

Jdsk wrote: 17 Mar 2023, 6:51pm How many chainwheels at the front, and how many teeth on each?

How many teeth on the sprockets at the rear?

Thanks

Jonathan
Thanks

Ok I’m still learning so if the chainrings are near the pedals where the chain goes round then I have two. This is the specs:

Rear Derailleur
Shimano RD-TX800, 8-speed

Front Derailleur
Shimano FD-M315, 31.8mm clamp

Crank
Prowheel TA-CQ68, 42/34/24T, 170mm

Cassette
Shimano CS-HG200 8-speed, 12-32T

Chain
KMC 8-speed

The tech said I could go from 32 to 34 and it may be better up hills..

On the hardest gears it rubs on the front derailleur.
Eyebrox

Post by Eyebrox »