CUK Membership Card

skeltrike

CUK Membership Card

Post by skeltrike »

Received my new membership card in the snail-mail this week. What is it for? and where would I use it?? Like most people (i think?) whilst cycling I no longer carry a wallet/cards etc. just my phone and an emergency tenner. So why don't CUK get with the programme, help the environment, save paper, postage and plastic, I just need a link/ QR code to go in my phone alongside my debit card, nectar, etc?

I'm a tech user but not really tech savvy but it can't be that difficult???
Last edited by skeltrike on 25 Feb 2024, 1:19pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jdsk

Re: CUK Membership Card

Post by Jdsk »

Same thought, but experience of this forum suggests that the change might meet considerable resistance.

I don't know if it's practical to offer Members the choice: I'll ask.

Jonathan

PS: Typo in the Subject, and it's a lot easier to correct than if it had been printed! : - )
a.twiddler

Re: CUK Mebership Card

Post by a.twiddler »

I seem to remember that at one time they were made of biodegradable, eco friendly card. Does anyone know when the change took place?
Sometime after the early eighties, I imagine.They would have had the winged wheel on them then, of course.
cycle tramp

Re: CUk 'ard

Post by cycle tramp »

Removed
Last edited by cycle tramp on 1 Mar 2024, 9:00pm, edited 1 time in total.
tatanab

Re: CUK Mebership Card

Post by tatanab »

As an option, yes. As the only way to show membership, no.

Since I (and others) have no wish to invest in a "smart" communications device I am quite happy to produce my plastic life membership card when required on the vanishingly few occasions that might want it, such as attending local AGM.
Jdsk

Post by Jdsk »

cycle tramp wrote: 25 Feb 2024, 12:59pm