Spa Cycles Tourer 540- frame alloy info for repair

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
kitaan

Spa Cycles Tourer 540- frame alloy info for repair

Post by kitaan »

Hi everyone,

My stepson has been happily cycling to school for the last three years on his Spa Tourer 540. At the last service the mechanic pointed out a hairline crack where the bottom bracket meets the down tube.

I have some experience TIG welding light gauge tubing so I feel confident repairing it if it isn't an exotic/ heat treated steel.

I'm not sure what the frame alloy is as there are no labels and I haven't been able to find any information on this model online (we bought it second hand). I am assuming Chromoly 4130 but does anyone know?

I have tried calling Spa a couple of times but haven't been able to get through. Their warranty is also only valid with the original purchase documentation.

Thanks!

Felix
rogerzilla

Re: Spa Cycles Tourer 540- frame alloy info for repair

Post by rogerzilla »

540 is just the frame size in mm. The main frame is probably Reynolds 725 but the other tubes may be unbranded chromoly.

I'm not sure I'd bother welding it as it's quite likely to crack again due to the extra metal acting as a stress raiser, and the tubing was probably already overheated at that spot. If you just want to get another year out of it, maybe.
gaz

Post by gaz »

As rogerzilla says, Reynolds 725.
High on a cocktail of flossy teacakes and marmalade
531colin

Post by 531colin »

I think it’s the 3 main tubes which are 725.
I’m on the phone just now, there is a website called “torch and file” which is a good source of information such as what Reynolds make in the various tube sets and wall gauge etc.
The bottom bracket shell is likely to be Cromo made in the Far East, I thinnk.

Edit…. Might it be kinder to braze a repair by building up a fillet or brazing on a patch?
kitaan

Post by kitaan »