Broken Chain! I’m a complete amateur

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Jaxof933121

Broken Chain! I’m a complete amateur

Post by Jaxof933121 »

Hey, hoping to get some advice. I’m a complete and utter amateur when it comes to cycling but love doing it. My chain recently snapped and I have no idea how to fix it and don’t want to spend out £24 to get it done when it seems an easy fix. Can anyone please advise? Thanks
Jdsk

Re: Broken Chain! I’m a complete amateur

Post by Jdsk »

Welcome

Two great resources:
https://sheldonbrown.com/chains.html
https://www.parktool.com/en-int/blog/re ... a%5B%5D=50

You need to decide whether to repair or replace the chain.

You need to check the wear on the chainrings and the rear sprockets.

Chains now come in various widths and you need to use the right one for your bike.

Magic links are now available that enable you to join the ends of chains without the traditional tool.

Jonathan
Airsporter1st

Post by Airsporter1st »

Fixing it yourself is relatively easy, but that’s curing the symptoms and not necessarily the disease. You need to know why it snapped and take steps to ensure it doesn’t happen again.
MikeF

Post by MikeF »

Note - first post.
"It takes a genius to spot the obvious" - my old physics master.
I don't peddle bikes.
richardfm

Post by richardfm »

Airsporter1st wrote: 25 Mar 2024, 3:15pm Fixing it yourself is relatively easy, but that’s curing the symptoms and not necessarily the disease. You need to know why it snapped and take steps to ensure it doesn’t happen again.
Any suggestions as to what might have caused it?
I was checking over one of my bikes the other day and found a broken side plate on the chain. I will replace the chain before riding it again so won't suffer from a broken chain. I would like to know what caused it, but have no idea how to diagnose the cause
Richard M
Cardiff
mattsccm

Post by mattsccm »