copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
mcgroa
Posts: 38
Joined: 7 Feb 2013, 12:18am

copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby mcgroa » 12 Mar 2013, 10:06am

just in case anyone else couldnt find a clear answer on this.

If you want to use your OS maps on your Mac, without having to plug your garmin in (and wait as it chugs along loading tiles) here is what to do.

Plug in your garmin.(if you can plug the SD card in directly to do this even better).

Copy the entire directory structure to your Mac in a folder named the same as the SD card name (e.g. 010C104300)

Open disk Utility and from the file menu, select New disk image from folder.

Once complete, right click that new file and select open with disk image mounter.

Now when you open basecamp, you will have option to use the OS maps.

The Mechanic
Posts: 1922
Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 1:38pm
Location: Scotland

Re: copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby The Mechanic » 12 Mar 2013, 10:40am

Can this also be done with City Navigator on SD card.
Cancer changes your outlook on life. Change yours before it changes you.

mcgroa
Posts: 38
Joined: 7 Feb 2013, 12:18am

Re: copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby mcgroa » 12 Mar 2013, 11:16am

dont see why not - apparently copying the contents of SD card to another SD card has same effect.

i.e. the garmin software wants to see the map as coming from an external device.

antman
Posts: 52
Joined: 4 Feb 2013, 5:51pm

Re: copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby antman » 13 Mar 2013, 9:17am

Works a treat... Thanks

andymiller
Posts: 1716
Joined: 8 Dec 2007, 10:26am

Re: copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby andymiller » 14 Mar 2013, 8:51pm

Can you run that past me again? I've not used the OS maps - are they a set of .img files or single .img file?
Italy Cycling Guide - a resource for cycle touring in Italy.

Aikon
Posts: 128
Joined: 4 Jan 2011, 11:00pm

Re: copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby Aikon » 14 Mar 2013, 9:22pm

Thanks for this, I wasn't aware this was possible

Cherwell
Posts: 113
Joined: 20 Feb 2010, 2:44pm
Location: North Oxfordshire

Re: copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby Cherwell » 17 Mar 2013, 7:53am

Is it possible to do this with windows?

mcgroa
Posts: 38
Joined: 7 Feb 2013, 12:18am

Re: copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby mcgroa » 20 Mar 2013, 10:37am

its one big img file, but i could not persuade basecamp to use it unless i put it in correct folder structure as that which exists on the card itself. given the number of other files on the card are small size, i just copied the whole card to be sure it worked.

as for working on a pc - not sure i can remember if possible to create a disk image and mount it in quite the same way. I would expect that you can definitely put a copy on another memory stick or a usb drive and it would work.

its a shame with a full licence for os maps, i cant print them or view them in a more efficient way. if you want to print a route on mac you basically have to get your screen and do screen grabs and then print the resulting jpgs. very annoying

pgerrish
Posts: 60
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 9:32pm

Re: copying OS map off garmin - solution for mac

Postby pgerrish » 28 May 2013, 8:33pm

Thanks for this solution - works fine for Garmin City NT Europe which is 3 GB so this solution much better than reading file very time from a connected GPS. Note in BaseCamp when adding waypoints etc. ensure my collection is selected and not the disk image as where to write them.