Punctures

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
reohn2

Punctures

Post by reohn2 »

People get more concerned about them in winter,which is understandable as there's no fun changing tubes in the cold and wet.
The vast majority of my punctures(which are usually two to three a year,one this year,a 15mm thorn which I only found when checking the tyres a couple of days later still embedded with tyre still at pressure )are thorns,with a very occasional glass shard and even less being sharp stones,with an even less minority of other assorted 'intrusions'
I'm aware tht some folks in different areas of the country suffer from flint flake or arrowhead flint punctures,I've no experience of these.
Thorns on the road are caused by hedge cutting/flaying,which can strew the road with them still attached to small 1 to 2inch bits of twig perfect for bicycle tyre insertion but at least you have a chance of seeing them.
But some also remain on top of the cut/flayed hedge for weeks until the next windy day when they can get blown onto the road,you maybe caught out by the odd one you've not noticed,so it pays to be vigilant on windy days :!: .
Glass isn't as easy spot but unless larger pieces of say a broken bottle are evident,the smaller shards are almost impossible to see on an otherwise clear road until you're practically on top of them.
The only time I've had sharp stone punctures have been on wet roads,so I'm inclined to think a wet tyre helps the penetration I'm also inclined to think that the stone needs to be dead centre on the tread as the only ones I've experienced(two that I can remember)have fitted that criteria :?

Puncture prevention is desirable and various manufacturers claim varying materials,mainly Kevlar belts or thick rubber like layers under the tread,but if the potential puncture cause is sharp enough and long enough it'll get through.
So prevention for me is best served by good riding technique,I don't ride in the margins of gravel heaps on tarmac.